Tags

,

Time to check out what’s going on around the good ol’ blogroll…

Go to I Correct Myself…to read Tart’s enthusiastic review of the recent Heartless Bastards gig. Sounded like quite the show!

The latest episode of the Contrast Podcast is up, with this week’s episode focusing on Sizes. Next week’s theme asks us to share a secret. I’m definitely intrigued as to what everybody else will come up with but have no idea what I’ll end up contributing. Time to dust off those skeletons…

Captain Obvious said goodbye to January (can you believe it’s February already?) with a fantastic mixtape that includes tracks from M. Ward, Heartless Bastards, The Decemberists, Neko Case and more.

I Am Fuel, You Are Friends and Licorice Pizza mark the 50th anniversary of Buddy Holly’s death with wonderful original recordings and some fantastic covers.

And head over to Way Cool Jnr to check out their take on the Top 25 Australian music blogs.  I’ve discovered a few fellow Aussies to keep an eye on, and you may recognise a familiar name there clocking in at #13 – my favourite number.

Let’s wrap it up with some tunes for your trouble.

My contribution to last week’s Contrast Podcast was this little ditty by Little Birdy from their album Big Big Love. A catchy tune and a fantastic live number.

Tonight’s The Night – Little Birdy

My favourite HB song. Just listen to that snarl!

UPDATE: My favourite is actually ‘All This Time’, but I posted this track only to discover that it was mislabelled in my library, and turned out to be ‘Into The Open’ – which is also a fantastic slice of HB greatness.  

Into The Open – Heartless Bastards

I heard this song recently, not knowing that it was Crowded House and tracked it down via a half remembered lyric. How did I miss this one?

She Called Up – Crowded House