Tags

, , ,

Spanning a wide musical spectrum aren’t we? Yesterday I gave you metal covers, today I’m serving up some opera.

Yesterday I saw Step Brothers, mainly because there was nothing better on. Which is sad, really. While I am by no means recommending the movie to anyone (though I did laugh, I admit, reluctantly), I did enjoy the end when Will Ferrell sang ‘Por Ti Volare (Time To Say Goodbye)’. He actually did a really good job. I haven’t been able to find that exact recording, but I do have a few (real) versions below. Enjoy.

Por Ti Volare (Spanish Version) – Andrea Bocelli

Por Ti Volare (Time to Say Goodbye) – Sarah Brightman and Andrea Bocelli

Con Ti Partiro (Italian Version) – Paul Potts*

And while I’m at it, here’s a bonus mp3 from Finnish band Nightwish, who during the reign of opera-trained vocalist Tarja Turunen, created operatic power metal. Who says it’s a wide musical spectrum?

Swanheart – Nightwish

*I think – I got a little confused!