Tags

, , , ,

I don’t know a lot of Joni Mitchell stuff, but I’ve been all over ‘A Case Of You’ since I came across it via I Am Fuel, You Are Friends.

What a beautiful song. Sad, yes. But sadness has its own special brand of beauty, doesn’t it?

A Case Of You – Joni Mitchell

Just before our love got lost you said
“I am as constant as a northern star”
and I said “constantly in the darkness
where’s that at?
if you want me I’ll be in the bar…”

On the back of a cartoon coaster, in the blue TV screen light
I drew a map of Canada, O Canada
with your face sketched on it twice
oh you’re in my blood like holy wine
you taste so bitter and so sweet
oh I could drink a case of you, darling
and I would still be on my feet
oh I would still be on my feet

And then — there’s the James Blake cover version. Wow. Just… wow. Adore it. I love the slightly fuzzy piano and that voice. Can’t get enough. What a gorgeous rendition.

A Case Of You (Joni Mitchell Cover) – James Blake

Check out that picture up there too – is he old enough to own such a voice?

