Tags

, , , , , , ,

So – Kristian Matsson, aka The Tallest Man On Earth. Is there a more distinctive voice out there? If so, I’m yet to hear it. It’s unmistakable. I heard ‘The Wild Hunt’ for the first time just as I pulled into my driveway the other day, and found myself unable to exit the car until it was over. It’s the type of song that messes me up – all wistful and hopeful, with a melody that just gets me, making me feel both happy and sad all at once. I love it.

The Wild Hunt – The Tallest Man On Earth | myspace

I’ve been reminded tonight just how much I love this one too. So much so that I just had to order the album – can’t wait for it to arrive in my mailbox.

King Of Spain – The Tallest Man On Earth

All you Northern Hemisphere types can catch The Tallest Man On Earth live, September through til December as he embarks on a lengthy tour of the US and Europe. You do know I hate you all, right? Very deeply? Well alright then.

Onward!

Darren Hanlon is a fellow Aussie, a singer-songwriter who I’ve paid zero attention to until recently when I came across the gorgeous ‘All These Things’. Why do I love it so much? Well, it was written on a ukulele, for starters, but if that’s not enough for you, you may also enjoy the introduction of piano later on in the track, or the boy/girl vocal interplay or the cute and quirky lyrics.

I also really like how he doesn’t hide his accent – heaps of Aussie artists seem to ditch their accents, pronouncing things in a more American way, but you can certainly tell he’s Australian when he sings, without it being a totally over-the-top twang-fest.

Darren Hanlon has a whole swag of dates coming up in the US, supporting Billy Bragg, David Dondero and Corin Tucker and also has a Daytrotter session scheduled which I’ll certainly be keeping my eye out for as well.

All These Things – Darren Hanlon | myspace | website

(image via le blog a riigolax)

Muzzle Of Bees and Hear Ya are both fantastic folk/country type blogs that have mentioned Hurray For The Riff Raff on several occasions in recent months and I finally sat up and paid attention this week. This New Orleans outfit play beautiful folk that I loved at first listen. ‘Slow Walk’ immediately won me over with its violin intro and background banjo but the sweeping vocals are gorgeous too. A winner, all round.

Hurray For The Riff Raff are hitting the road next month with dates booked all over the US of A.

Slow Walk – Hurray For The Riff Raff | myspace

(image credit: Paul Bryan, via myspace)

I’ve been meaning to post about One Wolf for aaaaages. Mind you, all the artists I’m telling you about tonight were meant to be single posts, written ages ago anyway, but I’m on a roll now so I’m throwing them at ya all at once!

One Wolf hail from Lubbock, Texas and play a brand of laid back rock that seems bigger than its four members. It’s largely slow tempo stuff, thick with reverb and jangly in all the right places. It might take a few listens, but it will creep up on you. Trust me.

Rick Nelson – One Wolf | myspace

Something To Prove – One Wolf

(image via inger klekacz’ flickr)

I think Friday Mile may have been one of the few bands to survive my massive email purge a few months back, right around the time I decided to stop taking music submissions. ‘Autograph’ is a fairly straightforward slice of indie pop, with a catchy chorus that I’m bound to have stuck in my head for the rest of the weekend. Ah well.

Autograph – Friday Mile | myspace