Tags

, , , , ,

Remember this one? I bloody loved the Kym Mazelle version, waaaaaay back in 1996 when I was still a little slip of a thing. It may have had something to do with Leo as well…. I’m just guessing.

Young Hearts Run Free (Candi Staton Cover) – Kym Mazelle

The Swell Season (lovely duo comprising Glen Hansard and Marketa Irglova) did their own version recently and oh, how I love it. Though I’ve always known the words to the song, I’ve never given them much thought before, always being caught up in the boppy dancy vibe and not focusing on the actual message of the song. In The Swell Season’s very capable hands it becomes a warning to young people, a tale of longing and regret.

Young Hearts Run Free (Candi Staton Cover) – The Swell Season

It reminds me of when Glen Hansard teamed up with fellow Irishman Colm Mac Con Iomaire to perform Britney Spears’ ‘Everytime’ – a teenybopper pop song is instantly transformed into a beautiful lament. Lovely stuff.

Everytime (Britney Spears Cover) – The Swell Season

The Swell Season’s take on ‘Young Hearts Run Free’ comes courtesy of Captain Obvious – check out his most recent Covers Mixtape for more outstanding coverage from artists such as Arcade Fire covering Magnetic Fields, Calexico covering Arcade Fire, My Morning Jacket covering The Band, Yo La Tengo covering Daniel Johnston… the list goes on.