Tags

, ,

Last weekend, my dad fulfilled a long-held dream and saw Van Morrison live at the New Orleans Jazz & Heritage Festival. I’ve not had a chance to speak to him properly about it yet, but he did send me a text message full of superlatives at the completion of the show – I can’t wait to hear the full story.

If I had been fortunate enough to be in the US right now, I woulda been right there front and centre with him – his dream is mine too – but I also would’ve snuck off earlier to check out Nashville’s Old Crow Medicine Show.

Old Crow Medicine Show are described on their wiki page as an ‘old-time string band’ and I like that. They certainly have an old-timey feel to them and are a lot more ‘country’ than most of the stuff I usually listen to – and I love every minute of it. All that banjo, fiddle, harmonica… that’s the good stuff, right there. They play a lot of original tunes, but also have a good crack at traditional Americana folk songs, and I get the feeling they’d do one hell of an awesome show.

Before I got sidetracked by that Jonsi album that’s totally stolen all my attention this week, these are the tracks that were doing it for me.

Wagon Wheel – Old Crow Medicine Show

Fall On My Knees (Live) – Old Crow Medicine Show

Cocaine Habit – Old Crow Medicine Show

Caroline – Old Crow Medicine Show

Old Crow Medicine Show are gearing up for the festival season up there in the good ol’ northern hemisphere, and you can check out all their upcoming dates on their beautifully organised myspace. I hate a messy myspace, don’t you?