Tags

, ,

We don’t have an art supply shop in my town. We have Maccas and KFC and Bunnings and Big W and Just Jeans and Sportsgirl and Jay Jays. We have two second hand book stores and a couple that sell fabrics and threads and a candle shop and one music store that’s fairly tiny, but employs people who have pretty good taste and so you can usually find what you’re looking for. We also have Target Country, which is pathetically small and I swear the only stock it carries is all the stuff that’s been rejected from proper Target stores in towns with more than 15,000 people.

But yes… no art supply store. I reckon I could get by if we had an Officeworks because this newly discovered hobby of mine can be mostly satisfied with black ink and watercolour pencils but something tells me that these tentative beginnings will soon sprout into a need to try other mediums and I’m afraid that a quick trip to the newsagents between shifts will just not cut it any more.

