Tags

, ,

I’ve been driving my sister’s car for the past couple of months and it’s one of those rare breeds that was manufactured before CD players were a standard dashboard feature. Even though I do listen to my ipod through an adapter sometimes, the upshot of this is that I’ve been listening to the radio a lot more. I like the unpredictability of what will come on next and although you can achieve this by hitting the shuffle button on your ipod, you’ve uploaded all that gear yourself, whereas the radio can throw anything at you – you never know what you’ll hear next. Unless of course you’re listening to bloody Fox or Nova, who I swear only ever play the same 6 songs, over and over and over again, and insist on playing Nickelback tunes without even bothering to issue a health warning first.

So yes – Triple J is my station of choice, which I guess makes sense given the nature of this blog, and Perth’s Birds Of Tokyo have recently made an appearance on my radar, in the form of the (slightly trendy, ’tis true) ‘Plans’. I wasn’t a fan of it at first, but it’s grown on me and I think it’s been stuck in my head for a week now.

Plans – Birds of Tokyo

Birds Of Tokyo’s self-titled third album hit the streets last Friday, and will be backed up by a national tour in September. Check their myspace for details.

(image via Birds Of Tokyo website)

