Tags

, ,

Nothing like a long-winded post title to give you a good workout on a late Friday afternoon.

Regular readers will know that I love Edinburgh’s Meursault. While their first record Pissing On Bonfires/Kissing With Tongues took a while to win me over, I was utterly enthralled by their Nothing Broke EP, which made it onto my list of Top 5 Releases of 2009.

Therefore, it goes without saying that I am full of anticipation for All Creatures Will Make Merry. While the album is scheduled for release on May 24, a limited run of hand-printed copies are available for purchase now over at Song By Toad Records.

For me, the first taste of the new record came in the form of ‘Crank Resolutions’, a magnificent track which (to my ears) seems to combine the more electro-type elements of Pissing with the gorgeous melancholy of the Nothing Broke EP. The album’s sound is described as ‘epic low-fi’ over at their artist page at Song By Toad, and although I hate using the word epic (it’s become a catchphrase now, and is rarely used properly) that bit around the 2:23 minute mark, where the vocals are almost buried behind that great wall of sound and that melody builds and somehow manages to sound both yearning and catchy all at once, thus messing with your emotions and leaving you not knowing whether to laugh or howl in despair… well if that’s not epic, then I don’t know what is.

Crank Resolutions – Meursault

William Henry Miller Pt 1 – Meursault

