Tags

, , , , , , ,

I still say mixtape, even though I think tapes are a long way behind us now. I remember getting my first Walkman and making my own mixtapes, frantically recording songs off Take 40 Australia to listen to while falling asleep. That was back in the days of TLC’s ‘Diggin’ On You’ and No Doubt’s ‘Don’t Speak’.

Rock. On.

This is not the longest mixtape in the world, it’s true (I’m still trawlin’ through my emails you see), but I’ve been spinning these tracks while I’ve been getting all those links organised and they sound pretty damn good together. Listen and enjoy.

My picks: I have two today, as I couldn’t choose between them. Both Glasgow’s Palace Ballet and Denmark’s Why Write? are doing it for me today. Having said that though, all six of these tracks are fantastic and worth a good listen.

Gabriel – Palace Ballet (UK)

Gabriel/City Of Lights Double A-Side out now | myspace

Burning Holes – Why Write? (Denmark)

5 Song EP released 2009 | myspace | website

Seaside – Mapletons (Australia)

From the Origami Army EP, out now | myspace

Digging For Icicles – Steve Poltz (USA)

From the album Dreamhouse out May 4| myspace | website

The Strangest Calm – Holmes (Sweden)

Sophomore album Have I Told You Lately That I Loathe You to be released on June 18 | myspace | website

Solid Ground – Maps & Atlases (USA)

Debut album Perch Patchwork due for release on June 29. Currently touring with Drink Up Buttercup, dates with Frightened Rabbit in May | myspace | website

(Image credit: Pop + Politics)

