Tags

, ,

Singer-songwriter Matthew Ryan first showed up on my radar thanks to Sandy over at Slowcoustic. Though he’s new to me, Ryan has been making records since 1997 and his most recent release Dear Lover received much praise throughout 2009.

‘Wilderness’ is my favourite track and it’s all about that big wall of sound that dominates the first minute of the song and builds throughout. Try not to tap or bop along with that melody – I bet you can’t do it.

The Wilderness – Matthew Ryan

I also love ‘Some Streets Lead Nowhere’, which is a complete contrast to ‘Wilderness’, a lament that begins with soft guitar, intermittent piano and background strings that come to the fore at the end of the song. Lovely stuff.

Some Streets Lead Nowhere – Matthew Ryan

Matthew Ryan embarks upon a US tour in February – details are available from his website or his myspace.

Image by Joshua Black Wilkins – find more here

