Tags

, ,

       

By now you might be a wee bit weary of me mentioning Meursault so often on these pages, but it’s the last time I’ll be talking about them for the next little while – at least until they go ahead and send another awesome release our way, that is.

Meursault have recently released two vinyl 7” singles, both from their 2008 full length Pissing On Bonfires/Kissing With Tongues, ‘The Dirt and The Roots’ and ‘A Few Kind Words’. Each single also includes reworked versions of both ‘William Henry Miller’ tracks from the Nothing Broke EP. I have to admit to being a little skeptical of these new versions when I first heard about them – how could they possibly be improved, I wondered?

Turns out I had nothing to worry about – both of the new versions retain their magic, even with the inclusion of more electro elements. I love the depth of sound created by the extra background strings in ‘Part 1’ (at least I think that’s what’s happening back there) and I can’t get over how much I love ‘Part 2’. It begins with choppy cello and crackly static and when that bass beat kicks in, followed by sweeping strings and all those ohhh-ohhhhs… well, you know you’re listening to something special.

William Henry Miller Pt. 2 (Single Version) – Meursault

Head to Song By Toad Records to get your hands on the vinyl, or head to itunes for a digital version.

