Don’t mind me, I’m just getting my last list in. I’ve told you all about how Part 1 of the Contrast Podcast Festive Fifty is up but I’ve not told you what my picks for the Festive Fifty were. You’ll notice that I didn’t manage to pick fifty songs this year but I still found forty songs that I thought were fantastic. And yes there are artist double ups. Even triple ups. My theory is, if an artist has managed to create two, three, four songs that are better than anything anyone else has done, then they deserve to be recognised for it. So there.

Without any further ado, let me present my Festive Forty – the top songs of 2009.

1. Religious Songs – Withered Hand (download here)
2. Two – The Antlers
3. William Henry Miller Pt. 1 – Meursault
4. Love In The Time Of Ecstasy – Withered Hand
5. Kettering – The Antlers
6. White Blank Page – Mumford & Sons
7. Cornflake – Withered Hand
8. William Henry Miller Pt. 2 – Meursault
9. Bear – The Antlers
10. Oslo Novelist – Grand Archives
11. Winter Winds – Mumford & Sons
12. Northern Lights – Bowerbirds
13. Ruby – Roadside Graves
14. Madame Shocking – The Silent Years
15. Sigh No More – Mumford & Sons
16. Love Or Limb – Meursault
17. California On My Mind – Wild Light
18. Valley – Roadside Graves
19. The Cave – Mumford & Sons
20. People Say – Portugal. The Man
21. Sweet Disposition – The Temper Trap
22. Guiding Light – Muse
23. So Far Around The Bend – The National
24. Folding Chair – Regina Spektor
25. City Of The Dead – Pinstripe 45’s
26. With This Ship – The Basics
27. Familiar Light – Asobi Seksu
28. Black Ice – Ohbijou
29. Uprising – Muse
30. Far And Wide – Roadside Graves
31. Roll Away Your Stone – Mumford & Sons
32. 40 Day Dream – Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros
33. Brother – Little Birdy
34. HiFi Goon – Throw Me The Statue
35. She Don’t Love Me – The Loops
36. I Love You, But Goodbye – Langhorne Slim
37. Antiques – Concept: Bravery
38. LaLaLa – The Loops
39. Suicide – The Raveonettes
40. Orchard – The Honey Trees

