Tags

, , ,

I had an unusual experience today – an entire cinema to myself. With a day off stretching out before me, I decided to catch an early afternoon showing of ‘Where The Wild Things Are’, and as it turned out I was the only person in town with time enough on their hands to do so.

It was a pretty cool experience actually. I had the pick of the seats. There was nobody rustling plastic or coughing incessantly. Nobody threw anything or kicked the back of my chair. I was able to take illicit photos of the action on the screen before me. This isn’t something I usually do you understand, but with nobody else in the cinema I thought, why not?

Now, a comment or two on the movie itself would be in order I suppose. I’d heard great things about this film from many sources so I went thinking it would be good, but not knowing what to expect either. I thought it was fantastic, and the visual elements are really what made this movie for me. I couldn’t get over just how perfect the wild things were, they absolutely nailed it. I loved this book as a kid, but as an adult it’s not the story that stuck with me, it’s the images that I remember and I was so glad they got them right.

I loved the whole feel of the movie too, it had everything. Imagination, wildness, darkness, sadness and humour, and this overall feeling of childlike wonder. I especially enjoyed the scene where they built the fort, and Ira, with his humble self-effacing nature, quickly became my favourite character. Max Records was also wonderful and really captured the contradictory nature of Max, who, like many a nine year old, was joyful and wild and angry and carefree and wise and hopeful all at the same time.

The soundtrack was also fantastic, with much of the music performed by Karen O & The Kids, the best of these ‘All Is Love’, a catchy, raucous number that has been on constant repeat on my recently purchased stereo.

All Is Love – Karen O & The Kids

I’m also including Arcade Fire’s ‘Wake Up’, a wonderful track that was used in promos but didn’t seem to make an appearance in the actual film – not that I heard anyway. The lyrics are particularly fitting.

Children wake up,
hold your mistake up,
before they turn the summer into dust.

If the children don’t grow up,
our bodies get bigger but our hearts get torn up…..

Wake Up (Where The Wild Things Are Version) – Arcade Fire

And the original

Wake Up – Arcade Fire

