Tags

, , ,

Totally random photo: Moulin Rouge, Paris May 2009

I’m house sitting this week, and for a little while earlier my laptop refused to hook up to the wireless setup here. You can imagine my despair as I pictured the week stretching before me, a barren wasteland. Just imagine! I’d be forced to resort to other ways to pass my time, like talking to people and reading books and interacting with the outside world. Perish the thought.

Anyway, the internet here is behaving now, and so I thought I’d offer up a few links that I’ve come across lately that are worth a look.

I’ve been cooking quite a bit lately – real cooking – and there are a few food blogs I use for inspiration. The Pioneer Woman (food/photography/homeschooling/confessions of a ranch wife blog) is a favourite, but I also like recent discovery Spork Or Foon? (check out those molasses spice cookies!). You might also like to check out 10 Great Blogs For Food Lovers.

I’ve also become a tad addicted to a few book blogs over the last few months, including Baby Got Books (great reviews and informative links to other book related sites) and Book Addiction (written by an avid reader who posts reviews and opinions on up and coming books, along with well-known novels and even her childhood reads).

Speaking of book related pursuits, Literary Rags make t-shirts featuring the quotes of well-known literary figures. My favourite is the Samuel Beckett shirt “What do I know of man’s destiny? I could tell you more about radishes.” I think I may have mentioned this site before, but they’ve updated it to include quotes from ‘Founding Fathers’ and ‘The Epochs’. Each month they also have a ‘shirt of the month’ available at a reduced price. This month it’s Truman Capote “Life is a moderately good play with a badly written third act.” Be sure to check out Well Dressed Reader as well, which features some cute book related jewellery.

Changing the subject totally now… Australian Jessica Watson is currently a month into her attempt to become the youngest person to sail solo around the world. I must admit I did think she was a bit silly when her last attempt ended abruptly after a collision with a bloody large ship and she didn’t seem too perturbed about it, but something led me to her blog the other day and it’s a pretty good read. It’s full of interesting technical info about how things around the boat work and how she passes each day alone on the open sea.

To wrap up, I’ve saved the best for last. Insound is currently offering free mp3 downloads from their top 50 albums of 2009. Here’s a couple I nabbed the other day – I really like the Cymbals Eat Guitars tune but I have to admit that I’m still struggling to get into Grizzly Bear.

And The Hazy Sea – Cymbals Eat Guitars

Cheerleader – Grizzly Bear

