Tags

, ,

Part of the problem with being a music freak is that I’m constantly on the lookout for the next best thing. I don’t mean that in a trendy way – I certainly don’t have any grand ambitions to be the blogger who introduces the world to the next big star or anything, but I am always on the hunt for performers who produce the kind of music that stops me in my tracks. You know the sort of thing, when you hear an artist for the first time and you’re like “Fuck yes! This is what I’ve been looking for!” And, if you’re like me, you’ll play the track or album over and over again and you’ll glory in those magical moments where the drums crash in or that riff takes over or the singer somehow stumbles upon those exact words that make your eyes mist over and your breath catch.

The problem with this neverending quest is just that – it’s neverending. I listen to so much music that quite often I don’t give it the attention it deserves. I’m so in love with those first few moments of discovery that I’m constantly on the hunt for more. That’s not a bad thing, but it does mean that I often overlook bands and don’t give them enough time to impress me. I don’t think I’m the only blogger that has this problem either.

The wonderful thing about this new digital age that we live in though, is that you can just leave tracks sitting on your computer or ipod until you’re ready to appreciate them properly. This track by the Bowerbirds came up on shuffle today and while I remember loving it months ago, I think I listened to it two or three times before it inevitably got lost in all the other music I was sampling at the time. I even posted it but neglected to write anything about it other than the fact it’s from their album Upper Air.

The track I refer to is ‘Northern Lights’ by US folk outfit Bowerbirds, and it’s simply beautiful. Gorgeous piano, lovely vocals and a smooth meandering melody.

I don’t need from you a waterfall of careless praise
And I don’t need a trophy for all the games I’ve played

But all I want is your eyes
In the morning as we wake
For a short while

Northern Lights – Bowerbirds

Image by Alissa Anderson, from the Bowerbirds website.

