Tags

, , , ,

I’ve always been a big reader and no matter how busy I am I usually manage to read every day, usually before bed. I love checking out what other people have been reading too, and have a long list stuck to my bedroom wall where I’m constantly adding new titles to track down.

Here are some of the books I’ve read in the last month or so, and I’ve popped a link up the top of my homepage where I’ll add to the list as I finish each book.

August/September 2009

Currently reading: Look Me In The Eye: My Life With Asperger’s – John Elder Robison I’m halfway through this at the moment, and it’s fascinating.

Ariel – Sylvia Plath I studied the poetry of Sylvia Plath at high school and have always been intrigued by her work. I bought my copy of Ariel when I was in Cambridge earlier this year, and I dip in and dip out of it, re-reading my favourites and discovering new poems to savour.

My Friend Leonard – James Frey Who cares if it’s not technically a ‘memoir’? The sequel to ‘A Million Little Pieces’ continues where it left off, as James attempts to rebuild his life after a stint in rehab. Great storytelling and a distinctive writing style.

Cannily, Cannily – Simon French I’ve been looking for a copy of this book for ages and finally stumbled across one in a secondhand bookshop last weekend. This story of a 10 year old boy trying to fit into a new town by joining the local footy team was one of my favourites when I was a kid. Trevor and his parents move from town to town chasing seasonal work and Trevor does his best to adapt to the every new situation, but still dreams of a time when they’ll be able to settle down properly.

Mystic River – Dennis Lehane I’ve never been game to watch the film version of this – I always thought it looked too creepy for my delicate sensibilities. For some reason I cope a lot better with scary/creepy/weird stuff in books than I do in films and now that I’ve read the book I reckon I’ll be ok watching the film.

Starter For Ten – David Nicholls My sister bought me this for my birthday and it was hilarious. It reminded me a lot of the Adrian Mole books, another favourite series from my childhood, in that the protaganist had a very high opinion of himself and failed to realise that his so-called friends and acquaintances spent most of their time laughing at him. A great read.

What are you reading at the moment?

Do You Like To Read? – Strand Of Oaks

Readers and Writers – Idlewild

We Are All Accelarated Readers – Los Campesinos

