Tags

, ,

These are my favourite kinds of videos – stripped back pieces performed in old warehouses or sheds or factories, voices bouncing off the walls and single camera shots highlighting eyes and hands and strings. This particular video is courtesy of American outfit Portugal. The Man, a group I’d never heard of until a couple of weeks ago who now seem to appear wherever I go.

First things first though – I have issues with weird punctuation in band names. That full stop in the middle of their name really gives me the irrits. However, I find myself totally captivated by the handful of tracks I’ve sampled so far, to the point where I can overlook their stupid punctuation useage. I know, it’s big of me isn’t it?

The wonderfully infectious ‘People Say’ off their July release The Satanic Satanist has been stuck in my head for days now, especially the first bit:

Save me,
I can’t be saved,
I won’t.
I’m a president’s son,
I don’t need no soul.

All the soldiers say
“It’ll be alright,
We may make it through the war
If we make it through the night.”
All the people, they say:
“What a lovely day, yeah, we won the war.
May have lost a million men, but we’ve got a million more.”
All the people, they say.

Catchy melody, great hooks and something to say – if you haven’t hit that play button yet, get on it!

People Say – Portugal. The Man

And the acoustic version:

People Say (acoustic) – Portugal. The Man

I’m also quite partial to the strings and gospel vocals in ‘Colors’ – why don’t you check that out as well?

Colors – Portugal. The Man

Still not enough for you? Head over to their slightly psychedelic website (is it possible to be slightly psychedelic?) to nab some more free tracks, and to check out their upcoming USA and European tour dates.

