Tags

, ,

I totally missed the Pedro The Lion boat and it’s only now, three years since they sang their last and went their separate ways, that I find myself eagerly sampling every track that I can get my hands on.

It was ‘Bad Diary Days’ that especially caught my interest, from the 1995 release It’s Hard To Find A Friend. The first few times I heard it I didn’t pay too much attention to the lyrics and just enjoyed the melody, but I think the lines that finally made me sit up and take notice were these ones:

a pair of ticket stubs in her desk
a movie I’ve never seen
I probably shouldn’t ask, it sounds so accusing

and on further listens

she just has a funny way of loving me

Insecurity, infedelity, a relationship unravelling at the seams… the best songs are always about pain and heartache and suffering, are they not?

Bad Diary Days – Pedro The Lion

The Longer I Lay Here – Pedro The Lion

