Tags

, , , ,

This week was so busy that I had hardly any time to listen to anything properly, including three recent album purchases. Hopefully in the next week or so I might have a chance to review The Antler’s Hospice, Other Lives self-titled offering and the new record from Perth’s Little Birdy. Until then, you’ll need to make do with these snippets that I should’ve shared earlier in the week.

I’ve been meaning to check out local Melbourne act Little Red for a little while now, ever since I heard ‘Coca Cola’ played on Triple J on the way home from school one wintry afternoon. The retro summer sounds warmed me up no end (although cranking the heater up full bore may have also had something to do with it). I love the handclaps and the group singalong at the end. Fun stuff.

Coca Cola – Little Red

I first came across the homespun tunes of Adam Balbo at Song By Toad and this bitterly sarcastic track has been both cracking me up and making me feel this weird kinda wistfulness, all in the space of one and a half minutes.

Obligatory Highway Song – Adam Balbo

It was this time last year that I first heard of Brooklyn’s Motel Motel self-professed purveyors of ‘schwag rock’. The love affair continues with the release of new song ‘Cowboy’. Check it out below.

Cowboy – Motel Motel

Image: Little Red

