Tags

, , ,

Lighthouse

Lighthouses are pretty awesome. In the old days people had to live there and man them but these days I think most of them are controlled by machines. I’ve always thought it would be a pretty romantic job, being a lighthouse keeper, but I guess if you were stranded on a remote island with no contact with the outside world and accessible only by boat it might be a little hard to handle. Definitely a job for those who are comfortable with their own company!

I’ve been looking for jobs today but sadly I’ve not stumbled across any in the lighthouse industry. I’d forgotten what a crappy process jobhunting can be. I’ve been really lucky with the last few jobs I’ve had, both teaching jobs and others, as they kind of found me rather than the other way round. Hunting them down yourself really sucks, especially if you’re not entirely sure what you want to do with yourself, or where you want to live for that matter. At the moment I’m getting by with some relief teaching, but I did apply for a couple of more permanent jobs today that look good, so cross your fingers!

To team with the theme, let’s have a listen to this offering from Canadian indie rockers The Dears. I came across it while hunting for songs about jobs (much more fun than looking for actual jobs!) and my word, it’s lovely. All slow and stripped back, it’s the perfect accompaniment to this bitterly cold night as I huddle before the fire, bemoaning the fact that the wood supply is getting low and I’ll soon need to head outside to grab another armful. Bloody winter.

Dream Job – The Dears

I’ve also gotta add this track by The Polyphonic Spree because it makes all this decision making (or lack of) a wee bit easier to deal with. I love all the flighty flutey bits and the sheer joy that permeates the whole thing. Never fails to make me grin like a loon.

Light and Day – The Polyphonic Spree

Image: Point Londsdale Lighthouse.

