My mate Tart has recently changed blogs, with I Correct Myself, I Mean All The Time becoming the streamlined, new and improved Love Shack, Baby. And ever since I checked out her new digs I’ve had ‘Love Shack’ rattling around my head, refusing to give me a moment’s peace.

It wasn’t until today though that I realised I’d been singing the wrong words for years. Instead of ‘glitter on the mattress’ I’d been singing ‘glitter on the nightdress’, which, if you think about it, could make sense, depending on your definition of the perfect love shack.

There are a ton more of these floating around out there – head here to check out a database of funny, weird and downright stupid interpretations of popular lyrics.

A few of the best:

Might as well face it, you’re a dick with a glove
Addicted To Love – Robert Palmer

Let’s pee in the corner, let’s pee in the spotlight
Losing My Religion – REM

Here we are now, in containers
Smells Like Teen Spirit – Nirvana

I got no thumb, but it grew back again
You’re never gonna keep me down

Tubthumping – Chumba Wumba

If you change your mind (Jackie Chan)
I’m the first in line (Jackie Chan)

Take A Chance On Me – ABBA

And my favourite:

Eeee-wheee!
It’s me; I’m a tree, I’m a wombat.
Oh, so cold at the end of your winter

Wuthering Heights – Kate Bush

Love Shack – B-52s

Losing My Religion – REM

Smells Like Teen Spirit – Nirvana

Wuthering Heights – Kate Bush

Take A Chance On Me – ABBA

