Tags

,

This week’s episode of the Contrast Podcast asks us to talk about our favourite live versions. I had a few that I thought about contributing, but in the end I went for the divine cover of ‘Always On My Mind’ by Iron & Wine and Calexico. I have posted this before, and I’m not going to say anything about it that I haven’t already said. It’s gorgeous and that yearning pedal steel and that twang gets me every time.

Always On My Mind (Live Cover) – Iron & Wine with Calexico

Other options included the version of Augie March’s ‘One Crowded Hour’ that I wish I’d been actually been able to see rather than the farce I was subjected to when I saw them live over a year ago. Yes I’m still bitter about it, and no, that’s not likely to change.

One Crowded Hour (Live With Orchestra) – Augie March

This version of The Mountain Goats’ ‘No Children’ is wonderful for its opening banter, but unfortunately the sound quality of the song itself wasn’t good enough to meet the CP’s exacting standards. Which is fine – an hour of scratchy underwater recording does not make for a pleasant listening experience!

No Children (Live) – The Mountain Goats

And this cover of ‘Come On Eileen’ by City On Film (also a repost) was another serious contender. I love that it’s completely different from the original – in a good way – but I didn’t include it because it’s long and there’s a bit of talking at the beginning and the end of the track.

Come On Eileen (Dexys Midnight Runners Cover) – City On Film

