Tags

, ,

I’ve mentioned the Triple J Unearthed website here before, but I don’t think I’ve actually explained what it is. Triple J is an alternative radio station here in Australia and while I didn’t listen to it much growing up like so many Aussie teenagers do these days, I do find myself listening to it more and more lately whenever I can’t be bothered plugging my iPod in or chucking on a CD in the car (that’s me – perpetually lazy).

Triple J Unearthed is kinda like an Aussie version of myspace, where Australian artists can create their own pages and provide mp3s for download. You can also sign up and rate the tracks that you like, and the ratings that users give are then compiled to make up the Top 100 Chart. What I like in particular about the Top 100 chart is that the songs high up there aren’t necessarily songs that have been played on the radio (they have a little icon next to songs that have aired on Triple J), but they are as rated by the Unearthed website users. Granted, you could probably stack the results by getting all your friends to log on and vote for you, but as you can only vote once per song, it is my hope that the results are fairly genuine.

I was there today checking out what was what and the first song that popped up when I clicked on the mp3 player was ‘Smellin’ Roses’ by FisherKing. Making up this Sydney indie/roots outfit are Sam Stephenson (Guitar & vocals), Josh Leong (Bass and backing vocals), Paul Hanna (Guitar and backing vocals) and Luke Robertson (Drums). They recently won Triple J’s Short Fuse comp and have shows coming up in Adelaide and several NSW locations during March. They also supported the wonderful Hey Rosetta! during the Sydney leg of their recent tour.

I was immediately taken by their soulful sound and a visit to their Unearthed page led me to another couple of tracks that proved they had another trick or two up their sleeve. ‘The Search For Something Different’ is a smooth building groove and ‘Who You Praying To?’ asks some big questions backed by simple yet bewitching melodies. They really have a lovely sound, with Sam Stephenson’s vocals giving each song a slightly melancholy tinge. I really love the twangy sound that permeates ‘Smellin’ Roses’ and the underlying bass in ‘The Search For Something Different’. The FisherKing EP is out now and can be bought from iTunes or directly from their website.

Smellin’ Roses – FisherKing

The Search For Something Different – FisherKing

Who You Praying To? – FisherKing

