Tags

,

When I first started this blog I had no idea whether or not it would last. Exactly one year ago today, I was living in a big student house over the summer, working night shift at a department store and spending lazy days surfing the net, reading lots of books and enjoying the fact that I didn’t have to drive anywhere after spending 2 years travelling an hour to and from work every day.

The best thing about the house that I was staying in, apart from the fact that it was huge and that I was the only one there, was that they had super quick broadband. Though I’d already checked out a few blogs in passing, it was around this time that I really started to follow blogs properly and discover tons of new music. After a few weeks of exploring and downloading tracks and blasting my discoveries into the halls of the empty house I thought to myself ‘hey I could do this!’ and lo and behold, yet another music blog was born.

Despite the fact that I tend to get bored easily and that self-motivation is not exactly my greatest talent, I discovered that I loved writing my own blog and sharing the music that I loved with others, and that it was not boring at all – far from it. I kept at it and slowly the traffic climbed and I started to notice a few regular readers.

At this point I feel I should say that I’ve always been a bit skeptical about the whole ‘fostering friendships over the internet’ phenomenon. But I guess the internet is a community like any other and I’ve certainly come to think of a few fellow bloggers and regular readers as friends, despite the fact that I’ve never met them and I doubt I ever will. The people listed below are people who have commented and emailed and linked to my blog, who have offered advice and suggestions and have willingly shared their thoughts, opinions and fantastic taste in music. They’ve certainly made it easy to keep this thing going.

Pedro, who was the one who told me I should do this in the first place

My sister Elspeth at the newly minted Nothing Compares To Elspeth

Marcy at Lost In Your Inbox

A Free Man

JC aka The Vinyl Villain

Chris at Local Vertical

Sandy at Slowcoustic

As I’ve been reading this back, it strikes me that this is probably a tad on the sappy side, but I’m leaving it like this because I really do mean every word. Writing this blog, while it’s never going to change the world, has come to mean a lot to me and without a few regular readers I don’t think it would’ve lasted the distance. Thank you!

And for one final appearance, the song that started it all…

Carbon Monoxide – Regina Spektor

