Tags

,

Ok, this shits me. I got wind of the fact that Amazon were offering their Top 50 albums of 2008 in digital download format for $5. As much as it pains me to potentially send business their way, unfortunately I needed to give you this information in order for you to fully appreciate my tale of woe and frustration.

So, in eager anticipation I headed on over there hoping to bag a few bargains. There were several albums there that I thought I’d grab and so I went through the malarky of getting the Amazon downloader whatsit and setting all that up so I could download the Old 97s album, and Calexico and probably one or two others if I’d found myself on a roll.

Of course, I’d forgotten what happened the last time I tried to do this, and why I hadn’t tried it for a while – they’ll only let you purchase digital downloads if you’re from the U.S.

This really shits me.

I’m much more likely to buy digital downloads, because when I buy a CD I usually just chuck it straight on my ipod anyway. The only exception to this rule is when I come across an album that I really love, and then I make sure I get a physical copy of it – it’s my little way of showing my committment I guess.

Perhaps there’s some licensing law that won’t allow them to distribute digital downloads outside the U.S.? I really don’t know, and can’t be arsed finding out to be honest. If that’s the case though, there’s nothing stopping me from buying the CD, ripping it and then uploading the whole thing to the internet somewhere (which I would never do) so I don’t understand what advantage they get from limiting who can buy albums in digital download format. Apart from pissing me off.

What’s stupid about this is that instead of spending $20 or $30, I’ve come away spending nothing, and have sent them an email expressing my displeasure, and I’m now bagging Amazon out in a public arena. I know that my little sum – or rant – won’t make a scrap of difference to a conglomerate like theirs, but what’s the point in offering all these great services if they’re not open to everybody?

Well Fuck You Then – Dark Meat

UPDATE: I won’t bore you with the details of the placating email that I received from Amazon in response to my feedback, but I did think the conclusion was worth sharing with you:

Amazon.com — Earth’s Most Customer Centric Company

Bollocks.

