Tags

,

Part two of the Contrast Podcast Festive Fifty is up and I reckon it’s probably one of my favourite episodes, including tunes from Frightened Rabbit, The Airborne Toxic Event, Vampire Weekend, Ida Maria, Hello Saferide and DeVotchKa.

I also fell head over heels for the sensational ‘Frankie’s Gun!’ by folk/country rockers the Felice Brothers, a track that I’d heard rumblings about all year but had never checked out properly. I loved the wheezing accordian and old time vibe from the beginning, but it’s the conversational storytelling that makes me smile everytime.

My car goes, Chicago
Every weekend to pick up some cargo
I think I know the bloody way by now, Frankie
Turn the goddam radio down thank you
Pull over, count the money
But don’t count the thirty in the glovebox buddy
That’s for to buy Lucille some clothes

The vocals are wonderful, gritty and world weary and oozing with personality. An absolute pearler of a track.

Frankie’s Gun – The Felice Brothers

Image credit: Joe Schell

