Tags

, ,

I don’t really know where I stand with the whole mashup thing. I love how a good mashup involves all the tracks merging and weaving around each other and I love the little thrill of recognition that comes when another track you know suddenly makes an appearance. But I wonder how much recognition the so called ‘artist’ should get. Much the same with remixes, I feel that they’re perhaps getting too much credit for what is essentially the digital manipulation of somebody else’s hard work. Having said that though, I’ve heard a few dodgy mashups in my time, and there’s certainly a difference between those who do it well and those who don’t.

Norwegian Recycling is an example of somebody who I think does it well, and although the tracks he uses are all mainstream pop songs, I still find myself humming along and admiring the way they all link together.

‘How Six Songs Collide’ includes samples from ‘I’m Yours’ by Jason Mraz, Howie Day’s ‘Collide’, Five For Fighting’s ‘Superman (It’s Not Easy)’ and I reckon there’s a Boyzone song in there too. Woo hoo!

‘8 Become 1’ includes Savage Garden’s ‘Crash and Burn’, Maroon 5’s ‘She Will Be Loved’, James Blunt’s ‘You’re Beautiful’ (I know, it just gets better doesn’t it!), U2’s ‘With Or Without You’ and more.

Check out his myspace to stream more tracks. ‘Ben Is Chasing Beautiful Girls’ is also a good one.

And thanks to Mez for the tip!

How Six Songs Collide – Norwegian Recycling

8 Become 1 – Norwegian Recycling

