Tags

, , ,

I have to apologise for the unpredictability of my file hosting at the moment. I’m not a big fan of savefile, which is what I was using, so I switched back to fileden, forgetting that the reason I stopped using it in the first place was that I kept running out of bandwidth and then of course nobody could access any of the fileden stuff. If there’s anything you feel that you can’t live without, you can always email me and I’ll do my best to get it to you. Have switched to a different filehost for the moment – we’ll see how this one goes.

Onto the toons…

Classic adopted-Aussie band Crowded House will always hold a special place in my heart as I grew up listening to their music as a kid. Covers of this iconic group abound, and here’s one I’ve tracked down by Sixpence None The Richer, who are probably best known in these parts for the single ‘Kiss Me’ which featured prominently in promos for Dawson’s Creek way back in olden times. While I’ve never come across a Crowdies cover that eclipsed the original, this one is pretty faithful and I do like the vocals.

Don’t Dream It’s Over (Crowded House Cover) – Sixpence None The Richer

The Magnetic Fields track ‘The Book Of Love’ has been covered by a few people now I think. This version by Rose Poleanzi and Rose Cousins is quite a lovely rendition with sweet harmonies and simple acoustic guitar. I like it better than the original (sorry Pedro!).

The Book Of Love (Magnetic Fields Cover) – Rose Poleanzi and Rose Cousins

Yet another ‘Hallelujah’ cover, this time by Aussie singer-songwriter Clare Bowditch. The deep, deep bass is used beautifully and is at times the only accompaniment to her smoky vocals. She’s not afraid to use her full range, sometimes straying from the melody we recognise for a word or two before bringing it back to familiar ground. I also really like the occasional trumpet which adds another element to the arrangement. Quite lovely.

Hallelujah (Leonard Cohen Cover) – Clare Bowditch

This Beyonce ditty has garnered a cover or two also. UK indie act The Magic Numbers are responsible for this one. I like the harmonica intro and the alternating male and female vocals and it’s always interesting to hear a stripped down acoustic version of a track that’s had all kind of electronic what-not applied to it.

Crazy In Love (Beyonce Cover) – The Magic Numbers

Oh, and that line from Dirty Dancing:

Nobody puts Baby in a corner.

Worst movie line ever?

