Tags

,

Speed Of Dark: Finally Friday – While I don’t really ‘get’ The Decemberists (don’t call me names, that’s not very neighbourly), I did enjoy reading this post. The Decemberists held a concert a few days after the US election to celebrate Obama’s victory, and you can find several live tracks here, including one where the audience is asked to jog in place and sit on the floor. Gotta love some audience participation!

Can You See The Sunset: It Came From The Nineties Volume 43 – This long running series celebrates (and sometimes mocks) the wonders of the 90’s music scene. In this particular edition you will find mp3s from Pearl Jam, the Spin Doctors, REM, Fat Boy Slim and the Goo Goo Dolls.

Versions Galore: 007 Part 1 The Midas Touch & 007 Part 2 Music To Watch The Quantom Of Solace To – Fans of James Bond might like to check out multiple covers of 007 themed tracks, all in time for the release of the newest Bond flick. I don’t mind Daniel Craig but for me, good ol’ Pierce is the ultimate James Bond. Although my image of him was slightly tarnished by his star turn in ‘Mamma Mia’. Stick to the spy game Pierce.

Everybody Cares, Everybody Understands: Okkervil River Cover John Lennon – Check out a live video of Okkervil River covering ‘Jealous Guy’.

And some mp3s for your trouble.

I couldn’t find an mp3 of the Okkervil version, so you’ll have to make do with this more than worthy substitute!

Jealous Guy (John Lennon Cover) – Elliot Smith

I have the consistently excellent Slowcoustic to thank for this discovery. This track by US acoustic outfit Balmorhea (pronounced Bal-moor-ay) reminds me a lot of the music of Horse Feathers with its gorgeous and slightly melancholy melodies. Any track that allows me to hear piano and cello melting together is alright by me.

Baleen Morning – Balmorhea

I know next to nothing about Cotton Jones but I do know that I like this track, despite the fact that it’s totally not what I usually like to listen to. Hazy, fuzzy boy-girl harmonies and muted keyboards combine to create a track that calls for repeated listens.

Gotta Cheer Up – Cotton Jones

We’ll wrap it up with a live take of Sigur Ros doing their foot stomping salute to gibberish. Why the hell not, I say.

Gobbledigook (Live) – Sigur Ros

