Tags

,

I absolutely love this cover. Slow heartfelt vocals, beautiful backing harmonies and the instrumentation is gorgeous. I think there might be a dobro or something in there too, giving it that wonderful yearning treatment. Or maybe it’s a pedal steel. Whatever it is, it’s beautiful!

Always On My Mind (Elvis Presley Cover) – Iron & Wine and Calexico

Flaming Lips covers are pretty hit and miss usually, but I’ve found one that I reckon works pretty well. It’s a pretty straight delivery, but there are a few spacey sound effects scattered throughout that do give it a bit of a quirky feel.

Just Like Starting Over (John Lennon Cover) – Flaming Lips

Ingrid Michaelson has a stunning voice and this cover is lovely, but think that it would’ve been a lot better if she hadn’t done all the dressy bits with her voice and just sung it straight.

Somewhere Over The Rainbow (Judy Garland Cover) – Ingrid Michaelson

Here’s my favourite version of ‘Rainbow’. Simple ukulele and wistful vocals. Absolutely beautiful.

Somewhere Over The Rainbow (Judy Garland Cover) – Israel Kamakawiwoʻole

Image from here.

