Tags

,

Last week’s Contrast Podcast was all about our parents music. What they listened to, and what they made us suffer through. My mum was all about the 70’s when I was a kid. She’s really moved on since then though – every now and then she might chuck on something modern like Rod Stewart doing his Songbook thing, or K.D. Lang crooning along to some dusty old relic. I guess it’s safe to say that we don’t really see eye to eye when it comes to the musical side of life.

Whenever I think of my dad and music though, Van Morrison is the first thing that pops into my head. When I was growing up Dad listened to tons of Van (and still does) and I absolutely hated it – a fact that he took great delight in exploiting. Though our stereo was in the loungeroom, he rigged speakers up in the ceiling in the kitchen so that no matter where you were in the house, you couldn’t escape the dulcet tones of Van the Man doing his thing. Dad would moon about the place, singing along to Van in a high pitched voice, deliberately making eyes at me as I tried desperately to make my escape. He would go on and on about how ‘heartsoothing’ Van’s music was and tell me that what I listened to was complete shite (which it was, but that’s beside the point!) and that Van was all that one should ever need. I fought and railed against him for years but it wasn’t until Days Like This and The Healing Game came out that I discovered that I did in fact like Van and that Dad actually knew what he was on about.

I managed to hide my shame at this deplorable flaw in my character for an impressive year or so of furtive CD borrowing, but I finally couldn’t contain it any longer and I fessed up. Dad was pretty gracious in victory I think, probably uttering something along the lines of “promise to worship the ground I walk on for the rest your natural born days and we won’t mention it again” but as it was a while ago I really can’t remember. It was more likely something like “took ya bloody long enough you duffer!”

I can’t post any Van here because he doesn’t seem to take too kindly to it, so I’ll leave you with a cover instead. You should definitely check out the podcast as well – I think this is my favourite episode so far. Not for the music – most of it I had to fast forward through to be honest, but it was great to get a little glimpse into the lives of the other podcasters. This week’s podcast is all about Halloween, so we’re supposed to contribute scary songs. We don’t do Halloween here really (somehow in our nation’s desire to copy all things American, we seem to have skipped that one thank goodness) so I’m trying to think of a way to twist my contribution a little bit. We’ll see how I go!

Jackie Wilson Said (I’m In Heaven When You Smile) – Dexys Midnight Runners

