Tags

, ,

It’s happened at last…I’ve got broadband. I’ve been running this thing on a dial-up since February and it’s not been easy! Bloody frustrating in fact. Broadband has finally found me out here in the sticks and I’m already in love.

To celebrate, here are some top tracks that I’ve been loving this past week. Enjoy!

Bye Bye Bye – Plants and Animals Canadian indie rock. I absolutely adore the piano and the epic buildups that pepper the track throughout. This is off their debut LP Parc Avenue which was released earlier this year and was shortlisted for the Polaris Music Prize. Impressive stuff.

Thursday – Asobi Sesku For a two person outfit, these guys certainly create a big sound. Yuki’s voice is both powerful and angelic at the same time. Very cool.

Rock and Roll – Eric Hutchinson Highly addictive pop straight outta New York. Usually gets a few repeated plays on the iPod before I reluctantly move onto the next track.

Leader And The Falcon – Head Of Femur Every now and then these guys resurface on my radar – the more I hear, the more I like. This track features great piano, nice riffs and a pretty cool tempo change about half way through.

Do You – Dana Falconberry It’s been ages since I’ve come across a female singer-songwriter that actually interests me. This is an absolutely gorgeous track. Sultry, lilting vocals and a bluesy vibe that’s both catchy and intimate at the same time. Definitely worth a listen.

Bad Blood – Ernest Ellis We’ll wrap it up with some local flavour. These guys are from Sydney and did their first show only a couple of weeks ago according to Open Your Eyes. This track is fantastic – I know I use the word ‘catchy’ a lot, but there’s a riff in there that’s been stuck in my head all day. If that’s not catchy, then I don’t know what is. Reckon these guys would be pretty fun live. And since they’re Aussies, I’ll actually have half a chance to see them live! Give ’em a go.

