Tags

, ,

I went through a bit of a Supremes phase when I was about 15. I can’t remember what prompted it but even now I can’t help but be enchanted by those voices. Their tunes never fail to cheer me up either.

My fave Supremes tune from back in the day was when they teamed up with The Temptations to create everybody’s favourite stalker anthem ‘I’m Gonna Make You Love Me’.

Every minute every hour I’m gonna shower you with love and affection

Now that part doesn’t sound too bad, but when you couple it with

Every night every day I’m gonna say I’m gonna getchya, I’m gonna getchya

and then relentless refrains of I’m gonna make you love me, it gets a little worrying. You can almost see the whites of their eyes. Will you excuse me? I got me some hills I gotta run to.

I do love the echoes from the boys, and the spoken parts though.

My love is strong you see I know you’ll never get tired of me, oh baby (sure won’t)
And I’m gonna use every trick in the book, I’ll try my best to get you hooked, oh baby (take me, I’m yours)

Classic.

I’m Gonna Make You Love Me – Diana Ross & The Supremes with The Temptations

Stoned Love – The Supremes

You should also check out this video of The Supremes singing ‘Baby Love’ on Top of the Pops in 1964. Things sure have changed since then. At least they realise that people are still going to watch them, even if they are so remiss as to leave their kit on. I do think they look like giant lollipops though.

