Tags

, ,

This week I faced a deep fear. Not only did I face it, I stared boldly into its eyes, lifted my chin and blew a big fat raspberry straight in its direction. I’m talking about the phobia I have of hearing my voice recorded. It’s a sad thing to admit that you hate the sound of your own voice. Especially if you’re a teacher, and you have to spend every day hearing yourself banging on, uttering phrases that haven’t seen the light of day since your mother said them to you.
“For heaven’s sake, how many times do I have to tell you…”
“What part of no don’t you understand…”
“Wipe that smirk off your face…”
Not only do I hate the sound of my own voice, I’m rapidly turning into my mother as well. Just another phobia to add to my list!

So how did I face this fear? I willingly, without coercion, recorded an intro for the Contrast Podcast and actually unleashed it upon an unsuspecting public. Go me! For those of you who don’t know, the Contrast Podcast is a weekly event that anybody can contribute to. All you have to do is choose a song that fits with the theme of the week and record an intro to go along with it. Other cool people do the same thing, and Tim Young, the clever chap that he is, links them altogether to make the podcast.

Last week’s theme was Poetry, and the song that I contributed was ‘The Lake’ by Antony and the Johnsons, which is a musical version of Edgar Allan Poe’s poem of the same name. I’ve included the track here, but if you want to hear what I said about it, you’ll need to download it to find out. I love checking out the Podcast because not only do I get introduced to a truly eclectic mix of music each week, I also get to hear the voices of the people whose blogs I read every week. It’s pretty cool to be able to put a voice to the words. It’s funny though – you know how you form a mental picture of the people you hear on the radio, and then you see their photo somewhere and they look totally different from how you pictured them? I had the same kinda experience when I heard a few voices on the podcast for the first time too!

The Lake – Edgar Allan Poe

In spring of youth it was my lot
To haunt of the wide world a spot
The which I could not love the less-
So lovely was the loneliness
Of a wild lake, with black rock bound,
And the tall pines that towered around.
But when the Night had thrown her pall
Upon that spot, as upon all,
And the mystic wind went by
Murmuring in melody-
Then–ah then I would awake
To the terror of the lone lake.

Yet that terror was not fright,
But a tremulous delight-
A feeling not the jewelled mine
Could teach or bribe me to define-
Nor Love–although the Love were thine.

Death was in that poisonous wave,
And in its gulf a fitting grave
For him who thence could solace bring
To his lone imagining-
Whose solitary soul could make
An Eden of that dim lake.

The Lake – Antony & The Johnsons

