Tags

, ,

During the Olympics, Music Max hopped on the bandwagon, with their top 5000 Gold Medal Marathon countdown. We’ll ignore the predictability of the whole exercise (you’ll see what I mean when I list the top 10 later in this post) and we’ll focus today on a song that broke in somewhere in the 200’s, the formidable Annie Lennox and her 1992 hit ‘Walking On Broken Glass’. I can’t believe I’d never seen this video before. I bloody love it! It’s got everything – lush medieval costumes and a great sense of fun, as well as a couple of cameos. John Malkovich makes an appearance, but Hugh Laurie is a stand out, in a getup reminiscent of his performance as George, Prince Regent, in Blackadder. Gregory House, eat your heart out.

Anyway, I digress. The point is, I loved the clip and it reminded how much my daggy side still appreciates Annie Lennox. YouTube wouldn’t let me embed it here, but you can follow this link and watch it to your heart’s content. You can also grab the mp3 below, because I just know you’re going to want to play this over and over again, and because I’m feeling so incredibly generous, I’m also including bonus Eurythmics track ‘When Tomorrow Comes’. You know you love it.

Walking On Broken Glass – Annie Lennox

When Tomorrow Comes – Eurythmics

Oh, and here’s the top 10 from the Music Max Top 5000 whatsit. It’s so predictable that my brother and I guessed 8 of the 10 artists featured (we missed The Clash and Joy Division). Yeah, we’re dorks. But damn, are we good at predicting the predictable!

1 Imagine  – John Lennon
2 Bohemian Rhapsody – Queen
3 Stairway To Heaven – Led Zepplin
4 Smells Like Teen Spirit – Nirvana
5 Long Way To The Top – ACDC
6 Love Will Tear Us Apart – Joy Division
7 London Calling – The Clash
8 Like A Virgin – Madonna
9 I Still Haven’t Found… – U2
10 Billie Jean – Michael Jackson

