Tags

, ,

Like Fleet Foxes, The Avett Brothers are a folk/rock outfit that I’ve never really ‘got’ before. I’ve heard great things about them on a multitude of blogs but I’ve never heard anything that convinced me to give them more than a cursory half-distracted listen. It was this review of a recent live gig that convinced me that they were worth another go. And it was ‘Gimmeakiss’ from their 2006 album Four Thieves Gone: The Robbinsville Sessions that made me thirsty for more. If anyone’s looking for me, I’ll be the one digging frantically through the depths of Hype.

Gimmeakiss – The Avett Brothers

Californian indie rockers Birdmonster are making some seriously catchy gear. This is completely feelgood stuff – great beat, energetic delivery and no mucking about. Listen. Now.

Born To Be Your Man – Birdmonster

New Country – Birdmonster

For tight indie rock that packs a punch, yet remains totally sing-a-long-able (so totally a word), look no further than Pomegranates. New album due out February 2009.

Whom/Who – Pomegranates

