Tags

, , ,

So I promised myself that I would do my best this week not to post too many covers, or at least to space them out a bit. Where these self-imposed rules come from, I don’t know. Maybe it’s a subconscious thing I’ve picked up on my travels – I reckon I’ve seen quite a few blogs who ‘don’t do reposts’ or who have rules about how often they post certain artists or themes. I’m throwing the rule book, such as it is, out the proverbial tonight though, because I stumbled across this cover of ‘Hallelujah’ by Regina Spektor the other day, and there was no way I could keep it to myself. The vocals are stunning (naturally) but are wonderfully restrained, and perfectly matched by the haunting cello arrangement. Absolutely beautiful.

Hallelujah (Leonard Cohen Cover) – Regina Spektor

And for more versions of this, one of the most covered songs in the world, check out the MOKB Cover Songs Project.

