Tags

, , ,

I think it’s high time I pointed you all in the direction of some of the cool stuff I’ve come across lately during my blog explorations.

Captain Obvious is the man behind one of my favourite daily reads. Not only does he regularly review new albums and introduce me to tons of stuff that I’ve never heard of, he also posts videos (that I can never watch properly thanks to my slow internet), reviews films and puts together the odd Covers Mixtape. And we all love a good cover now, don’t we? This latest mixtape is particularly juicy and includes Beirut covering ‘Hallelujah’, The Mountain Goats covering Jandek, Lacktherof covering The National and Okkervil River covering John Phillips, plus loads more. Definitely worth a look.

When You Awake is pretty good looking blog with a country focus. Now, before I go any further, I feel compelled to say this: I LOATHE country and western music. I’d sooner eat thistles than listen to the stuff. However, the good folk over at When You Awake still keep me interested with their awesome collection of mixtapes. Their ‘Goes Twang’ series features artists like The Beatles, Paul Simon and Bob Dylan being given the country treatment. They also have mixtapes made by other bands and artists, plus themed mixtapes with titles like ‘Oh Lonesome Me’ or ‘Stomp, Clap, Holler’. Very, very cool.

This next blog is right up my alley. Recent discovery The “Blog” of “Unnecessary” Quotation Marks appeals to my petty side. I’m one of those helpful annoying people who can’t help but point out spelling and punctuation errors and I frequently irritate my friends and family with my “surely they’ve heard of proofreading” speech. Luckily, I’m not the only one and this site features a plethora of errors to poke fun at.

Ah…but will they believe you?

And saving the best for last – Literary Rags make t-shirts that feature author portraits on the front and a quote on the back. Featured authors and philosophers include Louisa May Alcott, Sylvia Plath, Henry David Thoreau, Shakespeare, Aristotle, Geoffrey Chaucer, Emily Dickinson, J.R.R. Tolkien and heaps more. My favourite is the Samuel Beckett shirt. Accompanying quote reads What do I know of man’s destiny? I could tell you more about radishes.

Hallelujah (Leonard Cohen Cover) – Beirut
I’ve never heard a version of ‘Hallelujah’ played on a ukulele before – it works.

And now I leave you.

