Tags

, ,

Welsh seven-piece Los Campesinos! have recently announced that they are releasing their second album for the year, a ten track collection recorded during a two week stint in Seattle a couple of months ago. We Are Beautiful, We Are Doomed is due for release on October 13th and the track listing looks like this:

1. Ways To Make It Through The Wall
2. Miserabilia
3. We Are Beautiful, We Are Doomed
4. Between An Erupting Earth And An Exploding Sky
5. You’ll Need Those Fingers For Crossing
6. It’s Never That Easy Though, Is It? (Song For The Other Kurt)
7. The End Of The Asterisk
8. Documented Minor Emotional Breakdown # 1
9. Heart Swells/Pacific Daylight Time
10. All Your Kayfabe Friends

I’m very glad to see that quirky song titles abound and I have no doubt that they will continue to deliver their unique brand of effervescent off-kilter pop. Hold On Now, Youngster, released a mere five months ago, is an album that’s been known to blare freely from my car speakers as I drive to purgatory school on a Monday morning. Not only is it a festival of youthful exuberance, the lyrics often remind me of my three year old nephew – there’s no predicting what’s going to come out of his mouth next.

It’s bad enough you ever used the word as an adjective
But to suggest we do it in heels is really quite crass
And frankly, we’re reasonably practical
And we know the benefits of always doing these things in flats
And I spent the last seven years perched on the edge of my bed
Scratching ‘I am incredibly sincere’ into my forearm
You should know better

-…And We Exhale And Roll Our Eyes In Unison

You said “send me stationary to make me horny”
So I always write you letters in multicolours
Decorating envelopes for foreplay
Damn extended metaphors, I get carried away
On the back of a natural disaster, fixed with parcel tape and with kids sticking plasters
Nothing says ‘I miss you’ quite like the poetry carved in your door with a stanley knife

My Year In Lists

I was sick in my mouth because of the fear of the scent of the next girlfriend
And there were conversations about what Breakfast Club character you’d be
I’d be the one that dies (no one dies)
Well then what’s the point?
– We’re All Accelerated Readers

Even titles like ‘Drop It Doe Eyes’ and ‘Sweet Dreams, Sweet Cheeks’ are enough to crack me up. It’s great stuff people…bring on the new one, I say!

My Year In Lists – Los Campesinos!

This Is How You Spell HAHAHA, We Destroyed The Hopes and Dreams of a Generation of Faux-Romantics – Los Campesinos!

Go to my earlier post to check out ‘…And We Exhale’, ‘Don’t Tell Me To Do The Math(s)’ and ‘Knee Deep In ATP’.

And I don’t really think that going to school is purgatory, I’ve just never used that crossout button thinggy before.

