Tags

, , ,

Natalie Merchant

The above is a line from a Natalie Merchant song. I don’t know if destiny ever visited my cradle and had a little chuckle to herself, but I hope that if she did, it was a kind and indulgent laugh and not a cruel one. The song I refer to is called ‘Wonder’ and it popped up unexpectedly on my Itunes today. I hadn’t heard it for aaaaaages but there was a time when I listened to it often. Natalie Merchant collaborated with the Boston Pops Orchestra last month, and I reckon it would have been wonderful to hear her beautiful voice soaring above majestic strings. I’ll just have to content myself with this instead.  

I believe
fate smiled and destiny
laughed as she came to my cradle
“know this child will be able”
laughed as she came to my mother
“know this child will not suffer”
laughed as my body she lifted
“know this child will be gifted
with love, with patience
and with faith
she’ll make her way”

Wonder – Natalie Merchant

