, , , ,

Sigur Ros

My voodoo bad vibes must have worked…my internet connection appears to be cooperating (for now anyway), meaning that I am now able to upload songs again, with a processing time of 8 or 9 minutes (which is still bollocks), as opposed to 8 or 9 weeks, which was the crapola I seemed to be stuck with last week. Thank you to those who joined me in sending your negative energy towards the powers that be. I couldn’t have done it without you.

Here’s the post that would’ve appeared last Wednesday, had the Telstra demons not been against me. It’s old news now, but I’ve kept it as is.  

I know I’ve been a little heavy on the Sigur Ros talk over the last few days, but this post is both timely and justified.

Their new album is Með Suð Í Eyrum Við Spilum Endalaust (With a Buzz in Our Ears We Play Endlessly) and is set to drop June 23 (though you can preorder it from June 2 on their website). You can check out a couple of vids at their website, but you can grab the first track from the new LP below. It’s called Gobbledigook (nope, not making that up) and is not at all what I expected. I’ve also included my favourite track from Icelandic string quartet Amiina, who are frequent collaborators with Sigur Ros, and also feature on their new album.

In addition to the top downloads provided below, I’ve taken the liberty of providing you with a track listing. As you can see, it includes an English track as well. It will be interesting to hear them singing in a language that I can understand, but I kind of like not knowing what the hell they’re singing about, and I wonder whether being able to would take away some of the mystery.

1. gobbledigook
2. inní mér syngur vitleysingur
3. góðan daginn
4. við spilum endalaust
5. festival
6. suð í eyrum
7. ára bátur
8. illgresi
9. fljótavík
10. straumnes
11. all alright

Gobbledigook – Sigur Ros

Rugla – Amiina