Tags

, , , ,

The Sweet Serenades

When Martin Nordvall of The Sweet Serenades contacted me the other day I immediately knew he was a good guy because he told me he is a teacher just like I am. What a top bloke!

Martin is one half of Swedish indie pop outfit The Sweet Serenades, which he started with his friend Mathias back in 2002. According to them, their sound is mainly influenced by great songs, broken hearts, sexual frustration and musical acts as Tom Waits, Clap Your Hands Say Yeah, Arcade Fire, The Strokes, ACDC, Eddie Meduza, ABBA, The Technicolors, The Perishers, The Shins and many more. We call it Jungle Rock. Or Testosterone Pop.

So, onto the noise. I don’t know about Jungle Rock or Testosterone Pop, but I do know that these guys are making some infectious stuff. My favourite track ‘First Taste Of Trouble’ explodes out of the speakers with an arresting vocal and catchy beat before the “oooh oooh ooohs” kick in. You can’t help but bop along to this one. ‘I Can Never Die’ is complete with hand claps, chimes and a breakdown near the end with some yelling in the background that makes me laugh. ‘Coming Closer’ has a female vocal that makes for a nice change of pace, and actually reminds me a bit of Little Birdy lead singer Katy Steele.

They’re currently working on their debut album which is due to be released in September this year on Lyon Records.

The verdict: This is catchy stuff people. Jump on the bandwagon now, before it gets too crowded!

First Taste Of Trouble – The Sweet Serenades

I Can Never Die – The Sweet Serenades

Coming Closer – The Sweet Serenades

Website

Myspace

 

