Tags

, , ,

Ciy Breathing

Something new for this little blog of mine – band promos are starting to trickle into my inbox, which means I’m trying to find time to check out all the great new music that’s being sent my way lately. Here’s the first in what I hope will be a long series of incoming artists.

City Breathing are Brooklyn based trio Arun Antonyraj, Marwan Kanafani and Ron Tucker. The album is Look How It’s Snowing Upwards, Look How They Move Towards Heaven. Here’s what the promos have to say…

Like swirling clouds in glass jars, these eight tracks are intimate and ethereal—a delicate palette of hypnotizing guitar loops, elegant percussion, and yearning vocals that captures the band’s vivid metropolitan surroundings. The writing is pop at its core, yet solemn and expansive: half of the tracks are nearly cinematic, soaring past the seven-minute mark.

Here’s what I have to say…

These guys are fantastic. Sometimes I lose patience with long tracks, but City Breathing’s epic sound builds and shifts so beautifully that I never find myself itching to press the skip button like I do sometimes with other bands that go on for too long. City Breathing get it just right.  My current favourite ‘We Can Retrace The Sinking Sky’ (great title) is a sumptuous track with subtle vocals that allow the music to take centre stage.

City Breathing are doing a variable pricing model on their website, where you can pay what you like for digital and hard copies of their album, as well as merchandise. They’re also touring Brooklyn and other parts of the US in the next couple of months. Go check em out, and report back to me!

We Can Retrace The Sinking Sky – City Breathing

Rain and Revolution – City Breathing

Website

Myspace

