Tags

, , , ,

Lanterns On The Lake

They hail from Newcastle Upon Tyne (what a lengthy yet awesome name), they used to be known as Greenspace and their influences include (the wonderful) Sigur Ros, Arcade Fire, Mazzy Star, Joni Mitchell and Explosions in the Sky, amongst others.

Trading as Lanterns On The Lake since last year, they’re starting to gain some serious blog attention (thanks MP3 Hugger) for their luscious, dreamy self-described ‘sparkly indie, melodic, post-rock, cinematic-folk-pop’.  Led by the ethereal vocals of lead singer Hazel Wilde, their music is the sort that makes me want to spend summer nights watching colourful lanterns sparkle on a distant shore under a sky of shining stars.

‘I Will Lay You Down’ has grabbed me especially, it’s gorgeous. I can’t find the lyrics anywhere, so I’ve had a tentative stab at writing them down myself. There’s a couple of words that I wasn’t sure of, so if you know what they are, let me know and I’ll fix them up.

You’ve got to trust yourself
You are your only hope
There is no guiding light
There is no holy force
Do what you’ve got to do
Be all you can
There is no calling all (?) divine plan

I don’t need a prophet
To tell me their lies
All hail to the one
I’ll love til I die
At least he’s here
And knows how to dance when you’re afraid

I will lay you down
I will bring you flowers
I will lay you down
I will bring you flowers

So you’re tired
Your heart beats
In ways you can’t explain
Take all you need
Give all you have
I know you’ve been too far between

We don’t need a prophet
All seeing from above
Just be all you can
You’ve got to do what you love
At least it’s real
And you’ll know
How to dance when you’re afraid

I will lay you down
I will bring you flowers
I will lay you down
I will bring you flowers

Say what you like
Why I’m only the life that I bleed (?)
And say what you like
Why I’m only the songs that I breathe

You’ve got to trust yourself
You’ve got to trust yourself

I will bring you flowers

I think this track is about concentrating on the way in which you live your life, without worrying about whether or not you’re going to be rewarded or punished by a ‘holy force’, or go against a ‘divine plan’. Care for yourself and those you love and ‘dance when you’re afraid’. Sounds like a pretty good philosophy to me.

‘Caught On The Way’ is also beautiful. Make sure you check these guys out for their other-worldly sound and the dreamy vocals of Hazel Wilde. Not to be missed.

I Will Lay You Down – Lanterns On The Lake

Caught On The Way – Lanterns On The Lake

This Year – Lanterns On The Lake

