Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

greenf.jpgIt’s a simple idea, where I post songs that all have one thing in common – the letter that they begin with. Original? Not at all. Pointless? Probably.

Having said that though, every song is highly recommended and should be checked out by your good self immediately! 

So, go forth and discover…

From Band of Horses’ debut album Everything All The Time, comes ‘The Funeral’. If you haven’t checked out these Seattle rockers yet, hop to it – they’re awesome.

In a line:  At every occasion I’ll be ready for a funeral

The Funeral – Band Of Horses

Newcastle outfit Silverchair are fantastic. I was pretty late to love these guys, but I’ve finally woken up and seen the light. The video that accompanies this track is pretty cool – if I recall correctly it involves an old woman turning into a scaly alien.

In a line: No more maybes, your baby’s got rabies (what the lyrics lack, the opening riff makes up for).

Freak – Silverchair

From the soundtrack of the fabulous movie Garden State, comes Remy Zero’s ‘Fair’. I can even remember that it’s played in the scene where Sam (Natalie Portman) pretends to tapdance for Large (Zach Braff) in front of an open fire. Yes, I have seen it a few times.

In a line: So what if you catch me, where would we land?

Fair – Remy Zero

The first Flaming Lips song I ever heard – anyone else think it sounds a lot like ‘Father and Son’ by Cat Stevens?

In a line: I thought there was a virtue in always being cool

Fight Test – The Flaming Lips

I first heard this song on the last episode of Sea Change (why, oh why did it have to end?) and I’ve loved it since. It’s the earnest vocals, it’s the image of Laura and Max on the pier, it’s the swelling bagpipes…sigh.

In a line: I wanna dive into the sea of love, but my knees they are a-quaking

Freedom Coming – Colin Hay

Harmonica. Guitar slow and steady. Broad twangy vocals. It’s gotta be The Waifs. Vicki Thorn and Donna Simpson are sisters and ‘Fisherman’s Daughter’ was written about their childhood growing up in WA with their dad, who’s a fisherman. Funny that.

In a line: I’m saving dollars for a 1962 ruby red interior, R series Valiant, mother of a car

Fisherman’s Daughter – The Waifs

From their 2006 album A Blessing And A Curse, Drive By Truckers are reproachful and lovelorn in ‘Feb 14’.

In a line: You’re blossoming all over while I whither on the line 

Feb 14 – Drive By Truckers

Check out the rest of the alphabet here.

