Tags

, , , , , ,

blog-004.jpg

Saturday night saw my third trip to The Corner in Melbourne in as many months, and I have to say that as a venue, it’s not fabulous. The stage is too low, meaning that it’s impossible to get a clear view of the band without the aid of stilts or a friend’s broad shoulders. The sound quality is inconsistent and bar prices are pretty steep. Still, they book some great talent and if it wasn’t for their existence I wouldn’t have had the good fortune to check out The National, Okkervil River, or Little Birdy this year.

Which brings me to Saturday night’s gig. We arrived a little after 9:00 and caught the last half of Katy Steele’s (lead singer of Little Birdy) solo act. She was in great voice, with the highlight being ‘Into My Arms’, which I unfortunately can’t track down a copy of as yet.

After discovering that Little Birdy weren’t due to appear until 11:30, we ducked out for a bit and had a drink at a pub down the road before heading back in time to catch Sugar Army. I thought they were a bit emo, though my friend bought their EP and assured me that I was wrong. I thought they were ok, driving sound and their cover of Britney Spears’ ‘Toxic’ was pretty cool.

After a couple more drinks, Little Birdy made their appearance. Katy Steele was quite the rock star in a pink sequined top and platforms. The girl is tiny, even with custom footwear, and I don’t understand where she pulls her powerhouse voice from!

They hit all the songs I needed to hear, including ‘Beautiful To Me’, ‘Baby Blue’, ‘After Dark’ and ‘Tonight’s The Night’.

However the highlight was their excellent cover of Crowded House’s ‘Six Months In A Leaky Boat’, recorded for the 2005 tribute album She Will Have Her Way – The Songs Of Tim and Neil Finn. A regular feature in their live shows, it was fast paced and energetic, with a breakdown that led us to believe that it was coming to a close, before exploding back into another chorus. Great stuff.

Little Birdy are now heading back to the studio to record their next album, so hopefully there’ll be an album launch type tour before too long.

Six Months In A Leaky Boat – Little Birdy

