Tags

, , , ,

romeojuliet.jpgI’m not a fan of The Killers. It’s not that I don’t like them as such, I’m just not that into them. I do admit to liking ‘Mr Brightside’, but that’s about as far as it goes. I certainly don’t think they’re a great band.

So imagine my surprise when I came across their cover of Dire Straits’ ‘Romeo and Juliet’, a song that I’ve loved for years, and didn’t hate it.

It’s always a worry when you hear that someone has covered a song that you love. ‘Romeo and Juliet’ is a favourite of mine (I have hundreds, nay thousands, of ‘favourites’). I love the instantly recognisable intro, love Mark Knopfler’s dejected/rejected vocal delivery, love the lyrics that never fail to paint a vivid picture of poor Romeo doing his best to win back a Juliet that is never quite as sweet as Shakespeare’s version.

This bit makes me smile. 

Juliet says hey it’s Romeo you nearly gimme a heart attack
He’s underneath the window she’s singing hey la my boyfriend’s back
You shouldn’t come around here singing up at people like that

And this bit makes me want to beat Juliet about the head with a baldrick (a belt) or a batler (flat piece of wood women used to beat linen) or a neaf (a fist) in order to make her see sense!

I can’t do the talk like they talk on tv
And I can’t do a love song like the way it’s meant to be
I can’t do everything but I’d do anything for you
I can’t do anything except be in love with you

Stupid girl.

Anyhoo, back to the topic at hand…you can see why I was a bit reluctant to listen to The Killers version, for fear that they would butcher the hell out of it. I had nothing to worry about. Their version is faithful to the original and doesn’t muck around with the delivery. All in all, pleasant listening.

Romeo & Juliet (Live) – Dire Straits

Romeo & Juliet – The Killers

