Tags

, , , , , ,

Tick tock, tick tock…

Artists I need to spend more time with, and what I (don’t really) know about them:

What I Know About The Notwist

Came across these guys on the excellent music blog I Am Fuel, You Are Friends. They’re German, they’ve been around since 1989 and that they began as a grunge metal outfit, did some indie rock based stuff and now seem to be experimenting with the electronica scene. I’m loving their song ‘Consequence’ at the moment.

You’re the colour, you’re the movement
And the spin (never)
Could it stay with me the whole day long?
Fail with consequence, lose with eloquence
And smile
I’m not in this movie
I’m not in this song

Consequence – The Notwist

What I Know About Jaymay

Not much. Jaymay’s not her real name, it’s Jamie. Lots of her songs seem to feature blue-ness – ‘Gray Or Blue’, ‘Blue Skies’ and ‘Sea Green, Sea Blue’. Plus the American label who released her album Autumn Fallin’ is called Blue Note Records. Am sensing a bit of a theme here with this Long Island singer-songwriter.

Make sure you check out ‘Sea Green, Sea Blue’. It’s mellow and laid back, with some cool lyrics.

“Won’t you miss me?” you said inside Grand Central Station
And your eyes grew red and wild before the chasin’
I felt your body move through my coat
I felt you footstep silent but
Heavy, you followed me onto the shuttle
Tapped my shoulder one last time and that was all, that was all

Sea Green, See Blue – Jaymay

What I Know About Yo La Tengo

More than I did before I hit Wikipedia a few minutes ago. Yo La Tengo means “I got it” in Spanish. The story of how they got their name is fantastic.

The band’s name comes from a baseball anecdote. During the 1962 season, New York Mets center fielder Richie Ashburn and Venezuelan shortstop Elio Chacón found themselves colliding in the outfield. When Ashburn went for a catch, he would scream, “I got it! I got it!” only to run into the 160-pound Chacón, who spoke only Spanish. Ashburn learned to yell, “¡Yo la tengo! ¡Yo la tengo!” which is “I’ve got it” in Spanish.

In a later game, Ashburn happily saw Chacón backing off. He relaxed, positioned himself to catch the ball, and was instead run over by 200-pound left fielder Frank Thomas (NL baseball player) who understood no Spanish and/or had missed a team meeting that proposed using the words “¡Yo la tengo! as a way to avoid outfield collisions. After getting up, Thomas asked Ashburn “What the heck is a Yellow Tango?” The band wanted a name that sounded foreign in order to avoid any connotations in English. Kaplan is also a devoted baseball fan. However, it still irks the band when they are asked the origin of the name.

I also know that they’ve been around since 1984 and that Pitchfork once labelled them “the best band in the universe.” High praise indeed.

You Tore Me Down – Yo La Tengo

What I Know About Shearwater

Shearwater is the side project of Will Sheff and Johnathan Meiburg, of Okkervil River fame, and features music of a more reserved and quieter nature. Their new album Rook is set for release on June 3 in the USA, and hopefully not too long after that it will available in Australia. Check out the artwork for the album cover. Amazing.

shearwater_card.jpg

Room For Mistakes – Shearwater

