Tags

, ,

darkness1.jpg

I came across The Darkness fairly late in the piece, around the time they released One Way Ticket To Hell, although it was the stuff from their debut album Permission To Land that I heard first.

I think my introduction to The Darkness was ‘I Believe In A Thing Called Love’ and I remember laughing at the screaming falsetto and the lines in the chorus ‘just listen to the rhythm of my heart’ and ‘we’ll be rocking til the sun goes down’ – not because they’re paticularly funny, but because I couldn’t believe how high pitched his voice was, and how he managed to squeeze so many words into such a tiny space.

Since my discovery of The Darkness they have broken up, due to the departure of lead singer Justin Hawkins in 2006. This is particularly irksome (what a great word) because I never got a chance to see them live and by all accounts their gigs were a sight to behold. Justin Hawkins has begun recording a solo album entitled Panther that is set for release some time in 2008.

The remaining members of The Darkness, Richie Edwards, Dan Hawkins and Ed Graham recruited new member Tony MacFairlane and have since formed a new band called Stone Gods. Their EP Burn The Witch is due for release on February 25. You can sample their new sound on their myspace page.

I Believe In A Thing Called Love – The Darkness

Love Is Only A Feeling – The Darkness

Holding My Own – The Darkness

Growing On Me – The Darkness

Seemed Like A Good Idea At The Time – The Darkness

